Environment & Biodiversity

Tamil Nadu’s first biodiversity heritage site—Arittapatt

Arittapatti in Melur block, Madurai district, has been designated as a biological heritage site by the Tamil Nadu government.

About Arittapatti

  • Around 250 different bird species may be found in the ecologically and historically significant village of Arittapatti, including three significant raptors known as the Laggar Falcon, Shaheen Falcon, and Bonelli’s Eagle.
  • Animals like the Indian Pangolin, Slender Loris, and Pythons live there as well.
  • A series of seven hillocks, or inselbergs, surrounds the biodiverse area and acts as a watershed for 72 lakes, 200 natural springs, and three check dams.
  • One of them, according to the government announcement, is the Anaikondan tank, which was constructed in the 16th century under the rule of Pandiyan rulers.
  • The area is historically significant due to a number of megalithic constructions, rock-cut temples, Tamil Brahmi inscriptions, and Jain beds.

Biodiversity Heritage Site (BHS)

  • Rich in biodiversity, Biodiversity Heritage Sites are vital parts of regional ecosystems that the community is working to protect and manage.
  • BHS are established in accordance with the Biological Diversity Act of 2002’s Section 37(1) requirement.
  • The State Government may occasionally designate the areas of biodiversity importance as biodiversity heritage sites under this Act after consulting with the local bodies.
And get notified everytime we publish a new blog post.