International Relations

 India presents CPGRAMS during the 3rd Biennial Pan-Commonwealth Meeting in London

  • India’s Centralised Public Grievance Redress and Monitoring System (CPGRAMS) won worldwide recognition during the 3rd Biennial Pan-Commonwealth Heads Meeting in London.

What is the Commonwealth of Nations?

  • The Commonwealth of Nations is an intergovernmental organisation made up of 53 member nations, the majority of which are former British Empire possessions.
  • It dates back to the early part of the twentieth century, when the British Empire decolonized its colonies by increasing self-government.
  • The Balfour Declaration, issued during the Imperial Conference in 1926, established the British Commonwealth of Nations.
  • The UK formalised it with the Statute of Westminster in 1931. 
  • The symbol of this free association is Queen Elizabeth II, who is the Head of the Commonwealth.
    • Membership: Based on free and equal voluntary cooperation.

History of Its Creation

  • The Commonwealth was formed in the early 1900s as nations that were once part of the British Empire began to split.
  • India is a founding member of the modern Commonwealth.
  • Although India’s first Prime Minister, Jawaharlal Nehru, played a crucial role in the establishment of the modern Commonwealth in 1949, Indian policymakers have long seen it as a vestige of empire with a colonial history.

Working of Commonwealth

  • Commonwealth members have no legal duties towards one another.
  • Instead, they are linked by language, history, culture, and common principles like as democracy, human rights, and the rule of law. 

Actual Functioning: Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting (CHOGM)

  • Every two years, the Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting (CHOGM) provides a forum for all Commonwealth leaders to convene and address Commonwealth-related topics.
  • The meeting’s slogan is to reaffirm common values, confront global concerns, and reach an agreement on how to work together to create a better future.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

And get notified everytime we publish a new blog post.