ULLAS Initiative

  • The Department of School Education and Literacy (DoSEL), Ministry of Education, recently administered the Foundational Literacy and Numeracy Assessment Test (FLNAT) as part of the ULLAS – Nav Bharat Saaksharta Karyakram Initiative.

What is the ULLAS Initiative?

  • ULLAS stands for Understanding Lifelong Learning for All in S.
  • It aims to encourage lifelong learning and close literacy gaps among those aged 15 and up.
  • The project aims to provide citizens with the fundamental knowledge and skills required for personal and national growth.
  • The ULLAS User-Friendly Mobile Application is a digital platform that enables access to a wide range of learning resources via the DIKSHA portal. 

Foundational Literacy and Numeracy Assessment Test (FLNAT)

  • FLNAT is a national assessment test administered as part of the ULLAS effort.
  • It seeks to assess the foundational literacy and numeracy skills of registered nonliterate learners aged 15 and up.
  • The assessment includes three components: reading, writing, and numeracy, and is administered in all districts of participating states/UTs.
  • The test is critical in determining the impact of teaching-learning sessions done under the ULLAS programme and boosting reading and numeracy abilities in citizens.
  • It is conducted in the regional language of the learners, in line with the NEP 2020’s emphasis on multilingualism.
  • The National Institute of Open Schooling (NIOS) awards certificates to qualified students.

Key Features of ULLAS:

  1. Emphasises lifelong learning.
  2. Promotes a culture of knowledge exchange and personal growth.
  3. Participants gain digital literacy skills.
  4. Increases awareness and empowerment in financial concerns.
  5. teaches important life skills including legal literacy and digital competency.
  6. Improves citizenship awareness and empowerment.
  7. Student volunteers receive credits from their schools or universities.
  8. Certificates, letters of gratitude, and felicitation ceremonies are used to recognise achievements. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

And get notified everytime we publish a new blog post.