The Supreme Court celebrates its 73rd anniversary

  • The Supreme Court of India commemorated the 73rd anniversary of its establishment.
  • This year’s event will be broadcast on social media platforms, and the chief guest will be Singapore’s Chief Justice Sundaresh Menon, who is of Indian origin.

When was the Supreme Court established?

  • The Supreme Court of India was established on January 28, 1950, two days after India became a sovereign democratic republic.
  • H. J. Kania was India’s first Chief Justice.
  • The ceremony was held in the Chamber of Princes of the Parliament building, which housed the Federal Court of India for 12 years prior to the establishment of the Supreme Court.
  • The Supreme Court would be housed in Parliament House for many years until it moved to its current location in 1958, complete with lofty domes and spacious colonnaded verandas.

Established history

  • The Indian High Courts Act 1861 was passed in 1861, and it abolished the Supreme Courts in Calcutta, Madras, and Bombay, as well as the sadar adalats in presidency towns in their respective regions.
  • Until the creation of the Federal Court of India under the Government of India Act 1935, these new high courts had the distinction of being the highest courts for all cases.
  • The Federal Court had jurisdiction to resolve disputes between provinces and federal states, as well as to hear appeals from high court decisions.

The Supreme Court’s Premise

  • When the court relocated in 1958, the building was designed to project the image of scales of justice in the central wing.
  • The complex received two new wings, the East and West wings, in 1979. In total, there are 19 Courtrooms spread across the building’s various wings.
  • The Chief Justice’s Court is the largest of the courts and is located in the Central Wing’s centre.
And get notified everytime we publish a new blog post.