The Indian Constitution’s Eighth Schedule

The Supreme Court ruled that it cannot order the inclusion of Rajasthani as an official language in the Constitution’s Eighth Schedule.

Approximately the eighth schedule

  • The Republic of India’s official languages are listed in the Eighth Schedule.
  • The Constitution has constitutional provisions relating to the Eighth Schedule in Articles 344(1) and 351.
  • It was originally established to provide representation on the Official Languages Commission and to develop Hindi and English, the Union’s official languages.
  • Candidates taking public service examinations have the option of answering exam papers in any language from the Eighth Schedule.

Languages included

  • Assamese, Bengali, Bodo, Dogri, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Kashmiri, Konkani, Maithili, Malayalam, Manipuri, Marathi, Nepali, Odia, Punjabi, Sanskrit, Santali, Sindhi, Tamil, Telugu, and Urdu were among the 22 languages.
  • Tamil (designated in 2004), Sanskrit (2005), Kannada (2008), Telugu (2008), Malayalam (2013), and Odia (2014) are among the classical languages.

Chronological Updates

  • The Constitution’s Eighth Schedule previously featured 14 languages.
  • Sindhi was included as part of the 21st Constitutional Amendment Act in 1967.
  • The 71st Constitutional Amendment Act of 1992 included Konkani, Manipuri (Meitei), and Nepali.
  • Bodo, Dogri, Maithili, and Santali were added as part of the 92nd Constitutional Amendment Act in 2003.
  • The spelling “Oriya” was substituted with “Odia” by the 96th Constitutional Amendment Act in 2011.
And get notified everytime we publish a new blog post.