International Relations

Forum for India-Pacific Island Cooperation (FIPIC)

  • India, a member of FIPIC, has given $1 million for relief efforts in flood-ravaged “Papua New Guinea,” demonstrating sympathy with the devastated country.


  • Purpose: To strengthen India’s interaction with Pacific Island nations and assist their development goals via collaborative projects and activities.
  • Members include India and 14 Pacific Island nations (Cook Islands, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Nauru, Niue, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Tonga, Tuvalu, and Vanuatu). 


  1. First Summit – Suva, Fiji (November 2014)
    • Context: Following Fiji’s re-establishment of democracy, Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi initiated it.
    • Significance: The conference emphasised major nations’ geopolitical interests in the Pacific, with Chinese leader Xi Jinping visiting Fiji immediately after Modi. 
  2. Second Summit – Jaipur, India (August 2015)
    • Follow-up: In continuation of the initial summit, Modi invited the leaders of the 14 Pacific islands to Jaipur.
    • Discussions included collaboration in the blue economy, oil and gas, information technology, healthcare, fishing, and maritime research. Modi also pledged to address their climate change issues at the 2015 United Nations Climate Change Conference (COP 21) in Paris. 
  3. Third Summit – Papua New Guinea (May 2023)
    • Current Status: The most recent summit highlighted continuous cooperation and partnership between India and the Pacific Island States. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

And get notified everytime we publish a new blog post.