Appointment of Lokpal Chairperson

  • A.M. Khanwilkar, a former Supreme Court judge, was recently appointed Lokpal chairperson.

More information about the news:

  • The Lokpal has been operating without a regular Chief since Justice Pinaki Chandra Ghose’s term ended on May 27, 2022. Justice Pradip Kumar Mohanty, a judicial member of the Lokpal, is now acting chairperson.
  • Former High Court judges Lingappa Narayana Swamy, Sanjay Yadav, and Ritu Raj Awasthi have been appointed to the Lokpal. 

About Lokpal:

  • The Lokpal was constituted under the Lokpal and Lokayuktas Act 2013 to examine corruption charges against public officials.
  • Former Supreme Court Justice Pinaki Chandra Ghose took over as the first Lokpal chairperson in March 2019.
  • India is a signatory to the United Nations Convention against Corruption. The formation of Lokpal symbolises the government’s commitment to clean and responsive governance by combatting corruption. 

Composition of Lokpal:

  • The Lokpal has a chairperson and eight members, including four judicial and four non-judicial.
  • Appointed by the President of India for a term of five years or until they reach the age of 70, whichever comes first.
  • The President appoints the Chairperson and Members based on recommendations from a Selection Committee that includes the Prime Minister, Speaker of the House of the People, Leader of the Opposition in the House of the People, Chief Justice of India or a nominated Supreme Court Judge, and an eminent jurist appointed by the President. 

 Lokpal’s Jurisdiction:

  • The Lokpal investigates corruption charges against current or previous Prime Ministers, Union Ministers, Members of Parliament, and officials from Groups A, B, C, and D of the Union Government.
  • It applies to chairpersons, members, officers, and directors of organisations founded by an Act of Parliament or sponsored by the Union or State governments.
  • The jurisdiction covers societies, trusts, or bodies that receive foreign contributions over ₹10 lakh (about US$14,300 as of 2019). 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

And get notified everytime we publish a new blog post.