International Relations

11 African countries sign the ‘Yaounde Declaration’

  • The Yaounde Declaration was recently signed by health ministers from 11 African countries dealing with the most severe malaria outbreaks. 

What is Yaounde Declaration?

Signed atWHO and the Cameroon government organised the Yaoundé conference in Cameroon’s capital, Yaoundé.
ParticipantsMalaria stakeholders include health ministers, global malaria partners, funding agencies, scientists, civil society organisations, and more.
Signatory countriesBurkina Faso, Cameroon, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Ghana, Mali, Mozambique, Niger, Nigeria, Sudan, Uganda, and Tanzania.These countries account for more than 70% of the world’s malaria burden. 
PledgesEffective management of the malaria issue in Africa, including stronger leadership and more investment in malaria prevention, the use of modern data technology, and so on.Investing more in health infrastructure, personnel, and programmes, working across sectors, and developing partnerships for funding, research, and innovation.demonstrating a strong commitment to rapidly decreasing malaria fatalities and keeping each other and their respective governments responsible for their promises. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

And get notified everytime we publish a new blog post.